Deborah Court books

Author of the Maggie Dunn trilogy

About Deborah Court books

After a successful academic career, including two academic books and dozens of academic articles, I finally have time to write fiction! The Maggie Dunn books, as well as telling engrossing stories and presenting cracking good mysteries, capture my love of poetry, palindromes and rhyme.


The trilogy is now complete! Summer's Lie, When Bodies Fall and

The Reason for Time can be purchased separately from Amazon, or bought as a trilogy.

Summers Lie cover (2).png

Summer's Lie

May 2020

In Summer's Lie we meet Jane, who, after a strange chemical fog blankets Toronto, becomes gravely ill. As she recovers in hospital it becomes clear that this middle aged woman is getting younger. She flees the hospital, pursued by the geneticist who is determined to unlock the secret of her astonishing age reversal in order to gain scientific fame and fortune. How can she build a normal life?

When Bodies Fall

September 2020

When Bodies Fall

continues the story of Jane Emily Daniels, a scientific miracle whose body may hold the secrets of eternal youth. Her real identity is known only to a small group of doctors, and she creates a new persona, Maggie Dunn, in order to live some kind of normal life. She flees Canada and finds refuge in the Isle of Skye.  Her newfound peace is shattered by a violent and mysterious death. She finds herself a suspect in this death, as wily Scottish police detective Jack Wallace works to unravel the puzzle and Maggie struggles to maintain the life she has built and to protect her secrets.  Will she succeed, or will she have to flee again?

cover 3.jpg

The Reason for Time

January 2021

Maggie Dunn is coming home, to confront her past, reclaim her life and perhaps finally, to stop running.

But Maggie's health is failing. She is sick and confused. Could her thirty-year age reversal be unravelling? Is her body unable, finally, to sustain her transformation, a year and a half earlier, from a woman in her mid-sixties to a woman in her mid-thirties? To whom can she turn?

Together with her failing health, Maggie is faced with a shadowy pursuer who is determined, this time, not to let her slip through his fingers. When the crisis comes, her friends find that her fate is more shocking than anything they could have imagined. Will their determination be enough to save her?

Fiction in the works:

The Light Behind the Door

A fantasy novel for young adult readers


Academic Books

The Israeli Druze -new cover2.jpg

If you are interested in social science research, especially the study of culture, look for Qualitative Research and Intercultural Understanding (2018) and A Brief History of Knowledge for Social Science Researchers (2020), both published by Routledge/Taylor and Francis.

New in 2021: The Israeli Druze Community in Transition: Between Tradition and Modernity, with Randa Khair Abbas, published by Cambridge Scholars. This book can be ordered at

See and order all my books at my author site on Amazon:


I would love to hear from you about any of my books!

Thanks for submitting!